Political System

Politics of Ghana takes place in a framework of a Presidential Representative Democratic Republic, whereby the President of Ghana is both Head of State and Head of Government, and of a multi-party system. The seat of Government is at the Flagstaff House, Accra. Executive power is exercised by the Government. Legislative power is vested in Parliament.

The Judiciary is independent of the Executive and the Legislature. The Constitution that established the Fourth Republic provided a basic charter for Republican Democratic Government.

It declares Ghana to be a Unitary Republic with sovereignty residing in the Ghanaian people. Intended to prevent future coups, dictatorial government, and one-party states, it is designed to establish the concept of powersharing.

The document reflects lessons learned from the abrogated constitutions of 1957, 1960, 1969, and 1979, and incorporates provisions and institutions drawn from British and American constitutional models.

Powered by Dimitri Tibebe